

COMMONWEALTH OF KENTUCKY

DEPARTMENT OF MENTAL HEALTH

620 SOUTH THIRD STREET LOUISVILLE 2, KENTUCKY

OFFICE OF THE COMMISSIONER

March 10, 1958

The Most Honorable Nellie Giles Circuit Court Clerk of Harrison County Cynthiana, Kentucky

Dear Mrs. Giles:

The Kentucky Department of Mental Health currently has been faced with a problem of lopsided numbers of admissions to the various state hospitals. In order to alleviate this problem, we have filed with the Legislative Research Commission a regulation establishing new state mental hospital districts for the three state hospitals which lie in the eastern part of the state. A copy of this regulation is enclosed.

You will note that the following changes will be effective beginning April 1, 1958.

Patients from Boone, Kenton, and Grant counties will now go to Eastern State Hospital, Lexington, rather than Central State Hospital, Lakeland.

Patients from Letcher, Perry and Knott counties will now go to Kentucky State Hospital, Danville, rather than Eastern State Hospital, Lexington.

Patients from Nelson county will now go to Central State Hospital, Lakeland, rather than Kentucky State Hospital, Danville.

These changes should result in improved service in all cases, since the ad - mission of patients will be more easily handled, and in most cases, the actual traveling distance is also cut.

As noted above, the effective date of this regulation will be April 1.

Cordially yours,

H. L. McPheeters, M. D.

Commissioner

HLMc/clb

DMH - 5

Re: STATE MENTAL HCSPITAL DISTRICTS

Relates to KRS 202.170

Supersedes D M H -3

Pursuant to the authority vested in the Commissioner of Mental Health

by KRS 202.170, the following regulation is adopted:

Section 1. The following state mental hospital districts are created.

Patients will be admitted to the hospital serving the district in which they reside.

Eastern State Hospital, Lexington, Kentucky, Counties of

Bath	Clark	Harrison	Magoffin	Pike
Boone	Elliott	Jessamine	Martin	Powell
Bourbon	Estill	Johnson	Mason	Robertson
Boyd	Fayette	Kenton	Menifee	Rowan
Bracken	Fleming	Lawrence	Montgomery	Scott
Breathitt	Floyd	Lee	Morgan	V. olfe
Campbell	Grant	Lewis	Nicholas	Woodford
Carter	Greenup	Madison	Pendleton	oodiora

Central State Hospital, Lakeland, Kentucky, Counties of

Bullitt	Hardin	Meade	Owen	Trimble
Carroll	Henry	Nelson	Shelby	
Gallatin	Jefferson	Oldham	Spencer	

Western State Hos.pital, Hopkinsville, Kentucky, Counties of

Allen	Carlisle	Grayson	Logan	Simpson
Ballard	Christian	Hancock	Lyon	Todd
Barren	Crittenden	Hart	Marshall	Trigg Union Warren Webster
Breckinridge	Daviess	Henderson	Muhlenberg	
Butler	Edmonson	Hickman	McCracken	
Caldwell	Fulton	Hopkins	McLean	
Calloway	Graves	Livingston	Ohio	

Kentucky State Hospital, Danville, Kentucky, Counties of

Adair	Cumberland	Knox	Marion	Rockcastle
Anderson	Franklin	Larue	Mercer	Russell
Bell	Garrard	Laurel	Metcalfe	Taylor
Boyle	Green	Leslie	Monroe	Washington
Casey	Harlan	Letcher	Cwsley	Wayne
Clay	Jackson	Lincoln	Perry	Whitley
Clinton	Knott	McCreary	Pulaski	

Section 2. Patients may be admitted to a hospital other than the one in their own district by written permission of the Commissioner.

Section 3. Regulation D M H - 3 is superseded.

Adoption this 21st day of February, 1958.

H. L. McPheeters, M.D.

Commissioner

Department of Mental Health